Select Page

Location: Clayton County GA

Native American History of Clayton County, Georgia

Discover your family's story. Enter a grandparent's name to get started. Start Now Clayton County is located in west central Georgia and is part of the Atlanta Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area (SMSA.) It is named after Augustin Smith Clayton (1783-1839) who represented a section of Georgia in the United States House of Representatives between 1832 and 1835. Its county seat is Jonesboro. Clayton is bounded on the northeast by DeKalb County and on the northwest by Fulton County. Henry County forms a short segment of its eastern boundary. Spalding County is located to the south, while Fayette County forms its southwestern boundary. Geology and hydrology The western 2/3 of Clayton County drains into the Flint River and eventually the Gulf of Mexico. The eastern 1/3 of the county is drained by streams that flow into the South River, a tributary of the Ocmulgee River, eventually reaching the Atlantic Ocean, after the Ocmulgee joins the Oconee to form the Altamaha River. Clayton County is located in the Piedmont geological region, which is characterized by underlying rock strata of igneous and metamorphicized igneous rock. The terrain consists of rolling hills, stream valleys and some relatively level plateaus along the eastern Continental Divide that runs north-south from Forest Park to Jonesboro.. Seasonal or permanent wetlands parallel many of its streams and the Flint River. These are relatively narrow bands of soggy terrain...

Read More


It takes a village to grow a family tree!
Genealogy Update - Keeping you up-to-date!
101 Best Websites 2016

Pin It on Pinterest