- Access Genealogy - http://www.accessgenealogy.com -

Arkansas Vital Records

Discover your
family's story.

Enter a grandparent's name to get started.

choose a state:
Start Now

Birth Records

Birth Records Available: Birth records maintained by the Division of Vital Records start with February 1, 1914 through the present. Vital Records does have a limited number of birth records prior to 1914. The birth records dated prior to 1914 were filed with the Division of Vital Records after 1914. They have original copies of Little Rock and Fort Smith births dating from 1881.

Restrictions: Arkansas Statute 20-18-305 does not allow public release of birth records, which are less than 100 years old. The law does permit release to specific persons who are related to the registrant and to his/her designated representatives, to academic research groups, and to persons who can demonstrate a right to the record.

Information Required:

Send To: Send the above information and the appropriate fee to

Arkansas Department of Health
Division of Vital Records, Slot 44
4815 W. Markham Street
Little Rock, Arkansas 72205-386
Phone:  501-661-2174

 

In Arkansas? The Division of Vital Records is open Monday though Friday, 8:00 A.M until 4:30 P.M. The building is closed on state holidays and weekends. Customers who are in the Division by 3:00 P.M. and who have all of the search information that is needed to quickly find a record should receive their certificates on the same day. Those who do not have all of the search information or who arrive between 3:00 P.M. and 4:30 P.M. may pick up the certificate the following day or may request that it be mailed. (Please call before visiting to insure office will be open.)

4815 W. Markham Street
Little Rock, Arkansas 72205-386
Phone:  501-661-2174

Questions: The Division of Vital Records produces three types of birth copies: an actual copy of the original certificate, a certification copy, and a wallet size plastic birth card. The certification copy and plastic birth card can not be produced for some birth years.

Death Records

Records Available: Death records maintained by the Division of Vital Records start with February 1, 1914 through the present. The Division does have a limited number of deaths occurring prior to 1914 for Little Rock and Fort Smith dating from 1881. The Arkansas History Commission has a death index of deaths occurring in Arkansas from 1914 through 1949. This is only an alphabetical listing of deaths occurring in Arkansas. The History Commission does not have copies of the death records.

Restrictions: Arkansas Statute 20-18-305 does not allow public release of death records, which are less than 50 years old. The law does permit release to specific persons who are related to the registrant and to his/her designated representatives, to academic research groups, and to persons who can demonstrate a right to the record.

Information Required:

Send To: Send the above information and the appropriate fee to:

Arkansas Department of Health
Division of Vital Records, Slot 44
4815 W. Markham Street
Little Rock, Arkansas 72205-386
Phone:  501-661-2174

 

Questions: The Division of Vital Records issues a certified copy of the original death certificate in paper form.

In Arkansas? The Division of Vital Records is open Monday though Friday, 8:00 A.M until 4:30 P.M. The building is closed on state holidays and weekends. Customers who are in the Division by 3:00 P.M. and who have all of the search information that is needed to quickly find a record should receive their certificates on the same day. Those who do not have all of the search information or who arrive between 3:00 P.M. and 4:30 P.M. may pick up the certificate the following day or may request that it be mailed. (Please call before visiting to insure office will be open.)

4815 W. Markham Street
Little Rock, Arkansas 72205-386
Phone:  501-661-2174

Marriage records

Records Available: Marriage records maintained in the Division of Vital Records begin with January 1917. The Division of Vital Records does not have any marriage records prior to 1917.

Restrictions: Arkansas Vital Records Statute 20-18-305 does not allow the Division of Vital Records to release marriage and divorce coupons to the general public. (The County Clerks office where the event was recorded may operate under different rules.) The Vital Records Statute does permit the Division to release to specific persons who are related to the registrant and to their designated representatives, to academic research groups, and to persons who can demonstrate a right to the record.

Information Required: Please provide as much of the following information as possible for us to locate the marriage certificate:

Send To: Send the above information and the appropriate fee to:

Arkansas Department of Health
Division of Vital Records, Slot 44
4815 W. Markham Street
Little Rock, Arkansas 72205-386
Phone:  501-661-2174

Questions: The Division of Vital Records does not have either the actual marriage license or divorce decree. Customers who want a copy of the actual license or decree must contact the County Clerk or Circuit Clerk office where the record was recorded. The Division of Vital Records issues a certified copy of the coupon of marriage or divorce in paper form.

In Arkansas? The Division of Vital Records is open Monday though Friday, 8:00 A.M until 4:30 P.M. The building is closed on state holidays and weekends. Customers who are in the Division by 3:00 P.M. and who have all of the search information that is needed to quickly find a record should receive their certificates on the same day. Those who do not have all of the search information or who arrive between 3:00 P.M. and 4:30 P.M. may pick up the certificate the following day or may request that it be mailed. (Please call before visiting to insure office will be open.)

4815 W. Markham Street
Little Rock, Arkansas 72205-386
Phone:  501-661-2174

Divorce Records

Records Available: Divorce records maintained in the Division of Vital Records begin with January 1923. The Division of Vital Records does not have any divorce records prior to 1923.

Restrictions: Arkansas Vital Records Statute 20-18-305 does not allow the Division of Vital Records to release marriage and divorce coupons to the general public. (The County Clerks office where the event was recorded may operate under different rules.) The Vital Records Statute does permit the Division to release to specific persons who are related to the registrant and to their designated representatives, to academic research groups, and to persons who can demonstrate a right to the record.

Information Required: Please provide as much of the following information as possible for us to locate the divorce certificate:

Send To:

Arkansas Department of Health
Division of Vital Records, Slot 44
4815 W. Markham Street
Little Rock, Arkansas 72205-386
Phone:  501-661-2174

Questions: The Division of Vital Records does not have either the actual marriage license or divorce decree. Customers who want a copy of the actual license or decree must contact the County Clerk or Circuit Clerk office where the record was recorded. The Division of Vital Records issues a certified copy of the coupon of marriage or divorce in paper form.

In Arkansas? The Division of Vital Records is open Monday though Friday, 8:00 A.M until 4:30 P.M. The building is closed on state holidays and weekends. Customers who are in the Division by 3:00 P.M. and who have all of the search information that is needed to quickly find a record should receive their certificates on the same day. Those who do not have all of the search information or who arrive between 3:00 P.M. and 4:30 P.M. may pick up the certificate the following day or may request that it be mailed. (Please call before visiting to insure office will be open.)

4815 W. Markham Street
Little Rock, Arkansas 72205-386
Phone:  501-661-2174

Arkansas Subscription Genealogy Databases
Try the US and Canada Collection for 14 Days Free!