Discover your family's story.

Enter a grandparent's name to get started.

Start Now

History of Farming in Blue Mound, Illinois

For some years, the people of all this prairie country suffered great inconvenience in consequence of the expensive fencing necessary to protect their crops from the great herds of cattle which were allowed to roam at will over the prairie. In 1872, the township provided by ordinance against cattle running at large, at their regular town meeting. The ordinance followed the one of the town of Cropsey, which had been sustained and proved successful in its operation. Since the first experience in wheat, corn has been, and probably will continue to be, the great staple crop. The adoption of the law preventing cattle from running at large, made it possible for men to crop their land without fencing, and hedges were started, although there are many pieces of land in the township which are still open. There is no railroad, marketing of the crops being done at Lexington on the north, and Ellsworth and Holder on the south. Old settlers tell of a terrible tornado which swept over the town in the summer, which did much damage and caused more fright. The wind had blown from the east all day, and at night came back from the west in a terrible gale. For years, the people at the East had heard heart-rending stories of the awful winds on these treeless prairies. This was the first experience these settlers had after leaving their Eastern homes, and some of them fully expected, when the ” storm center ” should fairly get ” onto ” them, to see their cook-stoves going skyward, their cattle’s limbs flying promiscuously through the firmament, and the...

Town Officers of Blue Mound, Illinois

Below is given in table the names of those who have served the town in an official capacity during its history: DateSupervisorClerkAssessorCollector 1858J.H. DoyleN.T. LinthicumA.J. WillhoiteD. Wheeler 1859J.H. DoyleJ.T. SmithA.J. WillhoiteD. Wheeler 1860D. WheelerJ.T. SmithJ. SnailWilliam Elbert 1861D. WheelerJ.T. SmithJ.A. BartonW.T. Elbert 1862J.T. SmithJ.M. CareyM.S. GillP.J. Foster 1863William ElbertD. WheelerJ. SnailIsaac Smith 1864William ElbertD. WheelerJ. SnailIsaac Smith 1865William ElbertD. WheelerA. McMullenMilton Barton 1866J.H. NewtonWilliam ElbertA. McMullenW.H. Russell 1867J.H. NewtonWilliam ElbertRobert BarrA. Cumming 1868D. WheelerH. GreenScott ArnoldJ.K. Blandon 1869William McHughH. GreenS.A. StoopsScott Arnold 1870William McHughH. GreenG.L. LibbeyB. Brigham 1871William McHughH. GreenJ. SpawrH.C. Hayes 1872William McHughB. BrighamW.T. BransonT.H. Newton 1873W.H. RussellJ. R. TavenerH.C. HayesIsaiah W. Farquhar 1874W.H. RussellJ. R. TavenerB. BrighamH.C. Hayes 1875William McHughGeorge CooneyB. BrighamEd. Allen 1876William McHughI.W. FarquharC.H. PersonEd. Allen 1877William McHughI.W. FarquharW.H. RussellEd. Allen 1878William McHughI.W. FarquharB. BrighamEd. Allen The following persons have served as Justices of the Peace : J. M. Rayborn, Isaac Smith, P. Barnhouse, G. L. Libbey, J. Van Bushkirk, D. Wheeler, E. Easley, J. B. Bender, L. C. Blake, Thomas Arnold. The following have had charge of highways: J. Lupton, J. S. Stagner, H. Horney, H. Coal, W. Newton, William McHugh, Isaac Smith, J. W. Abbott, W. H. Hayes, William Benjamin, James Smith, Wesley Lewis, W. I. Arnold, D. Wheeler, W. H. Murphy, J. Arnold, W. L. Sapp, M. S. Sill, L. Bender, E. H. Burbank, E. B. Johnson. D. Wheeler served as Township School Treasurer three years, Isaac Smith ten years, until his tragic death. After him, William McHugh for some time, then Benjamin McCoy, the present very efficient officer. On the death of Mr. Isaac Smith, a deficit was discovered in his...

History of Schools and Churches in Blue Mound, Illinois

The town is now provided with suitable schoolhouses, and good schools are maintained. From the report of 1877, the following figures are taken : _N-umber of districts. 9 ; whole number of children under 21 years, 621 ; number between 6 and 21 years, 429; number enrolled in schools, 384 ; value of school property, $6,000 ; amount of town fund, $6,823; amount paid teachers, 82,523. Total expenses, 83,626. The citizens of Blue Mound very early took the matter of religious service and religious instruction in hand. Mr. John Speed Stagner, who, in many respects, is a pioneer in every good work, had, by a recent consecration of his life to religious work, and ordination to the work, according to the custom and rule of the ” Christian ” Church, come into his new home determined to build up religious institutions. Meetings were at first held in his house. Elders David Sharpless, Anderson and Knight were the first to hold religious services in this neighborhood. After the schoolhouse was built, meetings were held with considerable regularity there by the same preachers, followed by Elder U. H. Watson, Father Johnson and others. In 1865, the present ” Blue Mound Christian Church ” was built under the direction of Messrs. Stagner, Arnold, Doyle and Willhoite. The building is about 26×40, plain, without spire or decoration, and cost about $1,200. A Sabbath school is maintained during the warmer part of the season. The ” Grand View Prairie ” Presbyterian Church is located on Section 2, on land donated by Mr. Golden. The edifice was erected in 1872. Messrs. J. S. Campbell and...

Pin It on Pinterest