Topic: 1800 Census

1800 Census Guide – Questions & Information

Discover your family's story. Enter a grandparent's name to get started. Start Now A February 28, 1800, act provided for the taking of the second census of the United States, which included the states and territories northwest of the Ohio River and Mississippi Territory. The guidelines for the 1800 enumeration followed those of the first enumeration, except that the work was to be carried on under the direction of the Secretary of State. The enumeration was to begin, as in 1800, on the first Monday in August, and conclude in 9 calendar months. The marshals and secretaries were required to deposit the returns of their assistants, which were to be transmitted to the Secretary of State (not the President as in 1800), on or before September 1, 1801. The 1800 census covered the following states: Connecticut Delaware District of Columbia Georgia1 Indiana Territory1 Kentucky1 Maine Maryland Massachusetts4 Mississippi Territory1 New Hampshire New Jersey1 New York North Carolina NorthWest Territory1 Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina Tennessee1 Vermont Virginia The following “district” census were lost: Georgia, Indiana Territory, Kentucky, Mississippi Territory, New Jersey, Northwest Territory and Tennessee. Unfortunately, there are no known substitutes. It is suggested that genealogists consult other records for information concerning ancestors found within these locations around 1800. Much of Suffolk County schedules were lost, including all of Boston. The only existing census for this county are those...

Read More


Free Genealogy Archives

It takes a village to grow a family tree!
Genealogy Update - Keeping you up-to-date!
101 Best Websites 2016

Pin It on Pinterest