Many tribes have sub-tribes, bands, gens, clans and phratry.  Often very little information is known or they no longer exist.  We have included them here to provide more information about the tribes.

Detsanayuka (Detsanayuka, bad campers). A division of the Comanche, formerly called Nokoni (wanderers), but on the death of a chief bearing the latter name their designation was changed. In 1847 they were said to number 1,750, in 250 lodges, evidently a gross exaggeration; in 1869 their number was 312, and in 1872 they were reported at 250. Their present population is unknown, as no official ac count is now taken of the various Comanche divisions. (J. M.)

Ditsakana (Ditsä′kŭna, ‘sewers’). A Comanche division, the name of which was formerly Widyu (‘awl’), but on the death of a chief bearing the same name it was changed to Ditsakana. They were also popularly known as Yamparika, from their habit of eating yampa root. They were estimated to number 356 in 1869, and 200 in 1872, but their present population is unknown, as the Comanche divisions are not officially recognized. (J. M.)

Guagejohe. Given as one of the Comanche divisions, living about 1857 on the plains N. of Texas. Possibly a misprint Spanish form of Kwahari, q. v.