Select Page

Location: Fayette County GA

Native American History of Fayette County, Georgia

Fayette County is located in west central Georgia and is part of the Atlanta Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area (SMSA.) It is named after the French Revolutionary War hero, Marie-Joseph Paul Yves Roch Gilbert du Motier, Marquis de La Fayette. Its county seat is Fayetteville. Fayette County is also home to one of the United States’ most successful planned cities, Peachtree City. Fayette is bounded on the north by Fulton County and on the northeast by Clayton County. Henry County forms a relative short segment of its eastern boundary. Spalding County is located to the south, while Coweta County forms its western boundary. Line Creek forms the county’s entire western boundary, while the Flint River forms its eastern boundary. Geology and hydrology All of Fayette County drains into the Flint River and eventually the Gulf of Mexico. However, many of its creeks join the Flint River south of the county’s boundaries. The county is only a few miles west of the drainage area of the Ocmulgee River, which eventually flows into the Atlantic Ocean. Fayette County is located in the Piedmont geological region, which is characterized by underlying rock strata of igneous and metamorphicized igneous rock. The terrain consists of rolling hills, stream valleys and some relatively level plateaus between Fayetteville and Peachtree City. Seasonal or permanent wetlands parallel many of its streams and the Flint River. These are relatively...

Read More


It takes a village to grow a family tree!
Genealogy Update - Keeping you up-to-date!
101 Best Websites 2016

Pin It on Pinterest