Select Page

Location: Douglas County GA

Native American History of Douglas County, Georgia

Douglas County is located in west central Georgia and is part of the Atlanta Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area (SMSA.) It was named after African-American civil rights leader Frederick Douglass, when the county was created by Georgia’s Reconstruction General Assembly in 1870. As soon as Federal occupation troops left the state in 1874, the new General Assembly dropped the last “s” and stated that it was named after Stephen Douglas, the Democratic candidate for President in the 1860 election. The county seat is Douglasville. Douglas County is bounded on the southwest by Carroll County, GA. On the east, it adjoins the Chattahoochee River and Fulton County, GA that was formerly Milton County. On the northeast it is bordered by Cobb County, GA. Paulding County, GA adjoins Douglas on the northwest. Geology and hydrology Douglas County is located in the Piedmont geological region, which is characterized by underlying rock strata of igneous and metamorphicized igneous rock. The terrain consists of rolling hills and stream valleys. There are some extensive alluvial plains along the Chattahoochee River. Seasonal or permanent wetlands parallel many of its streams. These are relatively narrow bands of soggy terrain that provide ecological diversity for animal and plant life. The top soils are thin over most hills and steep slopes, while much deeper near streams. Short-sighted cultivation techniques in the 19th and early 20th century caused much of the...

Read More


It takes a village to grow a family tree!
Genealogy Update - Keeping you up-to-date!
101 Best Websites 2016

Pin It on Pinterest