Below is given in table the names of those who have served the town in an official capacity during its history:

Blue Mound Illinois Town Officers

Date Supervisor Clerk Assessor Collector
1858 J.H. Doyle N.T. Linthicum A.J. Willhoite D. Wheeler
1859 J.H. Doyle J.T. Smith A.J. Willhoite D. Wheeler
1860 D. Wheeler J.T. Smith J. Snail William Elbert
1861 D. Wheeler J.T. Smith J.A. Barton W.T. Elbert
1862 J.T. Smith J.M. Carey M.S. Gill P.J. Foster
1863 William Elbert D. Wheeler J. Snail Isaac Smith
1864 William Elbert D. Wheeler J. Snail Isaac Smith
1865 William Elbert D. Wheeler A. McMullen Milton Barton
1866 J.H. Newton William Elbert A. McMullen W.H. Russell
1867 J.H. Newton William Elbert Robert Barr A. Cumming
1868 D. Wheeler H. Green Scott Arnold J.K. Blandon
1869 William McHugh H. Green S.A. Stoops Scott Arnold
1870 William McHugh H. Green G.L. Libbey B. Brigham
1871 William McHugh H. Green J. Spawr H.C. Hayes
1872 William McHugh B. Brigham W.T. Branson T.H. Newton
1873 W.H. Russell J. R. Tavener H.C. Hayes Isaiah W. Farquhar
1874 W.H. Russell J. R. Tavener B. Brigham H.C. Hayes
1875 William McHugh George Cooney B. Brigham Ed. Allen
1876 William McHugh I.W. Farquhar C.H. Person Ed. Allen
1877 William McHugh I.W. Farquhar W.H. Russell Ed. Allen
1878 William McHugh I.W. Farquhar B. Brigham Ed. Allen

The following persons have served as Justices of the Peace : J. M. Rayborn, Isaac Smith, P. Barnhouse, G. L. Libbey, J. Van Bushkirk, D. Wheeler, E. Easley, J. B. Bender, L. C. Blake, Thomas Arnold.

The following have had charge of highways: J. Lupton, J. S. Stagner, H. Horney, H. Coal, W. Newton, William McHugh, Isaac Smith, J. W. Abbott, W. H. Hayes, William Benjamin, James Smith, Wesley Lewis, W. I. Arnold, D. Wheeler, W. H. Murphy, J. Arnold, W. L. Sapp, M. S. Sill, L. Bender, E. H. Burbank, E. B. Johnson.

D. Wheeler served as Township School Treasurer three years, Isaac Smith ten years, until his tragic death. After him, William McHugh for some time, then Benjamin McCoy, the present very efficient officer.

On the death of Mr. Isaac Smith, a deficit was discovered in his affairs ; demand was made upon the signers of his bond; they resisted payment for several reasons which seemed sufficient to them, the principal one being that the School Trustees, whose officer the Treasurer is, had been derelict in duty, in not sufficiently examining his affairs, and in permitting him at the time of his last election to serve six months without a new bond. Hon. William H. Smith, of Lexington, was one of the bondsmen. and he was known to be wealthy, which was thought to have bad its influence on the Trustees, they probably reasoning that he was “good for it.” The case was tried before Judge Tipton and decision given against the Trustees and in favor of the bondsmen, on the ground that the office was an annual office and that an annual bond must be signed, and for this neglect the signers of the bond were released, following the decision given in the case against the bondsmen of Duff, Treasurer of the State Reform School. The amount was not large; but the legal principle and its effects were important ant to every township in the State. Capt. Rowell, attorney for the Trustees, carried the case to the Supreme Court, where Judge Tipton’s decision was reversed and a new trial granted, which resulted in holding the bond good, thus throwing an additional security over all school funds. The Reform School case was never carried to the Supreme Court, through the negligence of the State officials, or it might have been reversed.