Ames Township Town Officers 1804-1868

Discover your
family's story.

Enter a grandparent's name to get started.

choose a state:
Start Now

The first election for township officers in Ames was held June 1, 1802 (nearly three years before the organization of the county), at the house of Silvanus Ames, and resulted as follows:

Nathan Woodbury, George Ewing and Samuel Brown, trustees; Daniel Weethee, clerk; Josiah True and Samuel Brown, overseers of the poor; Nathan Woodbury, Joseph Pugsley and John Swett, fence viewers; George Wolf and Christopher Herrold, house appraisers; Daniel Converse, lister; Samuel Brown and Benjamin Brown, supervisors; Daniel Converse and Silvanus Ames, constables.

In 1803 the following were elected:

Benjamin Brown, Silvanus Ames and Daniel Weethee, trustees; George Ewing, clerk; Nathan Woodbury and Joshua Wyatt, overseers of the poor; Benjamin Brown, John Brown and Samuel Brown, fence viewers; Jacob Boyles and Edmund Dorr, house appraisers; Josiah True, lister; William Brown, John Brown and Josiah True, supervisors; William Brown and Josiah True, constables.

Township Trustees 1804-1868.

1804       David Boyles,       Azel Johnson,       Nathan Woodbury.
1805       Benjamin Brown,     Josiah True,        Daniel Weethee.
1806       Ephraim Cutler,     John Brown,               "
1807       Abel Glazier,       Benjamin Davis,     Zebulon Griffin.
1808       Robert Palmer,      Reuben J. Davis,    George Walker.
1809-10    Seth Fuller,        Josiah True,        George Wolf.
1811       Silvanus Ames,      George Ewing,       Daniel Weethee.
1812       Joshua Wyatt,       Seth Fuller,        John Brown, 2d.
1813-15    Ezra Green,                "                  "
1816       Jason Rice,         Russell S. Lovell   Daniel Phillips.
1817       Silvanus Ames,             "            Jonas Rice.
1818       Jacob Boarman,             "            Ezra Green.
1819              "            John Brown,               "
1820       Seth Fuller,        James Cable,        James Mitchell.
1821              "                   "            Ezra Walker.
1822-23    John Wyatt,         Charles Cutler,     Alanson Hibbard.
1824              "            Jacob Boarman,      David Trowbridge.
1825       John Columbia,      John Boyles,        John M. Hibbard.
1826       Charles Cutler,     Elisha McEvers,     Morris Bryson.
1827-28    Sabinus Rice,       L. G. Brown,              "
1829       Absalom Boyles,     Jacob Boarman,      John B. Brown.
1830       James Brawley,             "            Gulliver Dean.
1831       Daniel Cable,       George Black,             "
1832       Silvanus Howe,             "            Jonathan Buzzard.
1833       John Carter,        Sabinus Rice,              "
1834              "            Absalom Boyles,     Silvanus Howe.
1835       L. G. Brown,        John B. Miller,           "
1836              "            Lewis Rathburn,     Daniel S. McDougal.
1837       R. G. Carter,              "                  "
1838              "            Charles Cutler,           "
1849       Daniel Rose,        William Robinson,         "
1840-4S    John T. Glazier,    John Carter,        James G. Owen.
1846-49              "         D. S. McDougal,     Solomon Koons.
1850       George Linscott,           "                  "
1851-52    James Patterson,           "                  "
1853              "            G. M. McDougal,           "
1854-55           "                   "            George Linscott.
1856-57    Almon Henry,               "                  "
1858       John E. Vore,              "                  "
1859-60           "            F. L. Junod,              "
1861       Moses Curtis,       Solomon Koons,      E. P. Henry.
1862       F. L. Junod,        C. J. Brown,        G. W. Wright.
1863              "                   "            C. H. Wyatt.
1864-65 N. P. Hoisington,             "            Daniel Fleming.
1866              "            Almon Henry,              "
1867              "            Edmund Wheeler,     O. N. Owen.
1868              "            Daniel Fleming,     Ezra Wolfe.

Township Clerks 1804-1868.

1804, Benjamin Brown;
1805, Harris Parsons;
1806, Geo. Walker;
1807, Benj. Davis;
1808, Martin Boyles;
1809-18, George Walker;
1819-11, Benjamin Davis;
1823-24, Sabinus Rice;
1825-26, David Trowbridge;
1827-28, Geo. Walker, Jun.;
1829-30, Wm. R. Walker;
1831, Hiram Cable;
1832-44, R. A. Fulton;
1845 to present time, J. H. Glazier.

Justices of the Peace.

1803- Ephraim Cutler, Samuel Brown.
1805- John Brown.
1806- Daniel Weethee.
1807- George Walker.
1808- John Brown, Jonathan Watkins.
1810- George Walker, Benjamin Davis.
1811- Thos. M. Hamilton.
1813- George Walker-served till 1830.
1819- Martin Boyles-served till about 1828.
1828- John Brown.
1831- Wm. R. Walker, John B. Brown.
1834- Sabinus Rice, Charles Carter.
1837- R. A. Fulton.
184o- H. B. Brawley, R. A. Fulton.
1843- R. A. Fulton.
1845- James Bryson.
1846- Henry Clark, Lewis Rathburn.
1847- Henry Clark, James Bryson.
1849- J. M. Mitchell.
185o- Henry Clark, James Bryson.
1852- J. M. Mitchell, J. G. Owen.
1853- James Bryson.
1855- R. A. Fulton, Jas. G. Owen.
1857- Gilbert M. McDougal.
1858- Robert A. Fulton, James G. Owen.
1860- Gilbert M. McDougal.
1861- Robert A. Fulton, William Mason.
1862- James G. Owen.
1863- F. L. Junod, R. R. Ellis.
1864- Lewis Carpenter.
1865- Frederick P. Kasler, James M. Mitchell.
1866- N. P. Hoisington.
1868- Lorenzo Fulton, David L. Rathburn.

H. B. Brawley served one term about 1840; Lewis Rathburn a term, elected about 1845, and William Mason a term, about 1846; but the records do not furnish exact dates.

MLA Source Citation: Athens County Ohio Genealogy. Web. 30 January 2015. - Last updated on Dec 5th, 2012

Topics: ,
Locations: ,

Contribute to the Conversation!

Our "rules" are simple. Keep the conversation on subject and mind your manners! If this is your first time posting, we do moderate comments before we let them appear... so give us a while to get to them. Once we get to know you here, we'll remove that requirement.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Newsletter Signup

We currently provide two newsletters. Why not take both for a run?

Genealogy Update: We send out this newsletter whenever we feature a new, or significantly updated, collection or database on our website.

Circle of Nations: We send out this newsletter whenever we feature a new (or significantly updated) Native American collection or database on our website.

Once you've clicked on the Subscribe button above you'll receive an email from us requesting confirmation. You must confirm the email before you will be able to receive any newsletter.

Connect With Us!

Pin It on Pinterest


Share This

Share this post with your friends!