Town Officers of Afton New York

The officers elected March 2, 1858, were as follows: Daniel A. Carpenter, Supervisor; Edgar Garret, Clerk; Hiram Willey and Morris J. Madge, Justices; William Corbin (William Corbin did not qualify and John Carr was appointed in his place March 16, 1858), Robert M. Littlefield and Jackson W. Poole, Assessors; Albert Pratt, Commissioner of Highways; Thomas Yale and George F. Hard, Overseers of the Poor; Eli M. Shay, Collector; Luman C. Pollard, William Corbin and James Poole, Railroad Commissioners (Before the division of the town, Bainbridge had issued bonds for $60,000 in aid of the Albany & Susquehanna Railroad, and $30,000 of this was assigned to Afton as her share of the indebtedness); Whitcomb Broad, Harvey A. Wakeman, Wilson Landers (Wilson Landers did not qualify and Potter Thomas was appointed in his place March 16, 1858) and Reuben Dean, Constables; James Poole and J. Dwight Chaffee, Inspectors of Election.

Following is the succession of Supervisors and Clerks from the organization of the town:–

Supervisors Clerks
1858-9. Daniel A. Carpenter. Edgar Garret. 1860. Charles W. Griswold. Lewis Post. 1861. Jonathan Farnsworth. Alonzo L. Farnam. 1862. Joseph B. Chaffee. Geo. M. Champlin. 1863-4. James B. Cook. do. 1865. Jonathan Farnsworth. do. 1866-7. Edgar Garret. do. 1868. Jonathan Farnsworth. do. 1869. Erastus Fisher. do. 1870. Presson R. Peck. do. 1871. Horace C. Chamberlin. do. 1872. Robert M. Littlefield. John C. Chamberlin. 1873. John C. Chamberlin. Henry G. Carr. 1874-7. do. Martin D. Howard. 1878-9. Eli M. Shay. Marshall G. Hill.

The following list of the officers of the town of Afton, for the year 1880-’81, was kindly furnished by Charles W. Spencer:–

Supervisor–Eli M. Shay.

Clerk–Charles W. Spencer.

Justices–Oliver N. Swift, Reid Peck, Elijah R. Snell and L. E. Jackson.

Assessors–Warren Dutton, Lucius Hunt and John Hinman.

Commissioner of Highways–George Clapper.

Overseers of the Poor–Isaiah Snell and Harry Hull.

Collector–John Skelley.

Town Auditors–Cornelius Atherton, Samuel Weeks and Morris J. Madge.

Game Constable–Samuel Jamison.

Constables–Justus H. Carr, Norman Hall, John Hoyt, Eri W. Lingle.

Inspectors of Election–Hiram Cornwell, Orlando Coss, George M. Champlin.

Sealer of Weights and Measures–E. Fairchild.

Excise Commissioners–Edward V. St. John, J. B. Mayhew and Abijah Carrington.

MLA Source Citation:

Smith, James H. History of Chenango and Madison Counties, New York. Syracuse, NY: D. Mason & Co. 1880. Web. 22 December 2014. - Last updated on Aug 18th, 2012

Locations: ,

Contribute to the Conversation!

Our "rules" are simple. Keep the conversation on subject and mind your manners! If this is your first time posting, we do moderate comments before we let them appear... so give us a while to get to them. Once we get to know you here, we'll remove that requirement.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Newsletter Signup

We currently provide two newsletters. Why not take both for a run?

Genealogy Update: We send out this newsletter whenever we feature a new, or significantly updated, collection or database on our website.

Circle of Nations: We send out this newsletter whenever we feature a new (or significantly updated) Native American collection or database on our website.

Once you've clicked on the Subscribe button above you'll receive an email from us requesting confirmation. You must confirm the email before you will be able to receive any newsletter.

Connect With Us!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!