Discover your family's story.

Enter a grandparent's name to get started.

Start Now

Native American History of Haralson County, Georgia

Haralson County is located in west central Georgia and is part of the Atlanta Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area (SMSA.) It was named after Hugh Anderson Haralson, who was a planter, lawyer and United States Congressman from Lagrange, Georgia. The county seat is Buchanan. Haralson County is bounded on the north by Polk County, GA and on the northeast by Paulding County, GA. On the south it adjoins Carroll County, GA. On the west, it is bordered by Cleburne County, Alabama. Geology and hydrology Haralson County is located in the Piedmont geological region, which is characterized by underlying rock strata of igneous and metamorphicized igneous rock. The terrain consists of rolling hills, stream valleys and some relatively level plateaus. Seasonal or permanent wetlands parallel many of its small streams. These are relatively narrow bands of soggy terrain that provide ecological diversity for animal and plant life. The top soils are thin over most hills and steep slopes, while much deeper near streams. Short-sighted cultivation techniques in the 19th and early 20th century caused much of the best top soil to be eroded; thus exposing red clay sub-soil. Sandy loam can still be found near streams. Haralson County is drained both by the Chattahoochee River and the Little Tallapoosa. The drainage areas divide the county roughly in half. The Chattahoochee River joins the Flint River in deep southwestern Georgia to form the Apalachicola River, which flows through Florida into the Gulf of Mexico. The Little Tallapoosa flows from Haralson County into Randolph County, AL. It later joins the Tallapoosa River. The Tallapoosa joins the Coosa River in southeastern Alabama to form...

Pin It on Pinterest