Discover your family's story.

Enter a grandparent's name to get started.

Start Now

History of Cropsy, Illinois

Cropsey Township embraces the south half of Town 25, Range 6 east of the Third Principal Meridian, is three miles by six, and is territorially the smallest in the county, being only one-third the size of Gridley. which is the largest. During most of its political history. it has been attached to the present town of Anchor (24, 6) and in school affairs is attached to, and forms a school township with Belle Prairie, in Livingston County. The township is entirely prairie; and, as a consequence, had no early settlements. Probably the first to settle here was Col. A. J. Cropsey, from whom and by whom the town was named, in 185S. Col. Cropsey came here from Will County, Ill., where his parents had long resided in Plainfield, and commenced farming operations in 1854. He had entered two sections of land, and built a house in or near the center of Section 22. He was a man of enlarged views, having enjoyed the excellent advantages which the son of an intelligent and prosperous farmer in Will County would even at that day receive. He was at once looked up to as a leader among men. He was ardently attached to the M. E. Church, of which he was a member, and a local preacher of considerable note. He did not remain here long, however. He became interested in the building of the new village of Fairbury, the nearest railroad point to his farm, ten miles north, and, in 1860, was elected the first Representative in the Legislature from Livingston County, the first resident of that county who was ever...

Railroad History of Cropsy, Illinois

The center of the old town of Cropsey was, and is yet, about fourteen miles from the nearest railroad station, being about equidistant from Saybrook, on the south, and Fairbury, on the north. This of itself was enough. during the era of railroad-building and bond-voting, to make it of interest to railroad-builders and popular with voters to go into the bonding business. Several propositions were made and votes taken in this direction. None of these propositions were received favorably until the Decatur State-Line Railroad took form. This road was to run from Decatur, where it well connect with the Decatur & East St. Louis road, of which it was to be an extension. direct to Chicago, passing through Chatsworth. The road would have been, had it been built, an almost air-line route from St. Louis to Chicago-several miles shorter than the shortest line between those two cities. The Boodys, of the Toledo, Wabash & Western Railroad, which controlled the Decatur & East St. Louis line, were very anxious to build it, for it would give them a Chicago connection which they had been, and still have been, unable to get. The proposition really seemed the most feasible of the many railroad propositions then in existence. They were in business relations with the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific railroad, and were really dependent on that company for the money to build it. When the citizens of Cropsey were shown the magnificent future which such railroad facilities would give them, it is not to be wondered at that they were ready to get all the wealth which this would bring them,...

Township Officers of Cropsy, Illinois

The township was organized in April, 1858, at a meeting held at the house of Levi Straight. A. A. Straight was chosen Moderator, and A. J. Cropsey, Clerk. The town was divided into two road districts on the half-section line running through the town north and south, which now has the iron bridge on it. Below is given, in table, the officers who have been elected to the principal offices during the official life of the town. DateVotes CastSupervisorClerkAssessorCollector 1858A.A. StraightB.A. WigginsJ. HarknessJ. Darr 1859J.H. Van EmanE.W. MahoneyE. MerrillN.M. Stoddard 1860J.H. Van EmanE.W. MahoneyE. MerrillH. Crabb 1861N.M. StoddardE.W. MahoneyG.W. FreshcornS.P. Alford 186219Charles CrabbG.W. FreshcornH. Crabb 186317Charles CrabbA.B. CarrN.M. Stoddard 186414N.M. StoddardCharles CrabbB.M. StoddardRobert Rand 186514J. WardCharles CrabbH. CrabbJ.W. McCullough 186619Henderson CrabbCharles CrabbJ.P.W. EsonJ.W. McCullough 186739H.L. TerpenningCharles CrabbJ.P.W. EsonJ.W. McCullough 186836M.H. KnightCharles CrabbJ.I. RobinsonJ.W. McCullough 186964H.L. TerpenningJ.C. SwatsleyJ. McCulloughAnson Dart 1870105H.L. TerpenningJ.C. SwatsleyH. CrabbA.W. Green 187176H.L. TerpenningJ.C. SwatsleyZ.C. WorleyJ.C. Swatsley 187276H.L. TerpenningJ.C. SwatsleyZ.C. WorleyJ.C. Swatsley 1873101H.L. TerpenningJ.C. SwatsleyZ.C. WorleyE.H. Worley 1874136H.L. TerpenningJ.C. SwatsleyC.B. WorleyO.D. Rutter 187578G.R. BuckJ.C. SwatsleyJ.C. SwatsleyC.D. Morris 187685G.R. BuckJ.C. SwatsleyD.B. SpencerJ.T. Tanner 187756H.L. TerpenningH.A. ThomasJ.W. McCulloughA.W. Green 187832H.L. TerpenningH.A. ThomasJ.W. McCulloughA.W. Green Those who have served as Justices of the Peace are, L. F. Straight, G. W. Freshcorn, J. H. Van Eman, Ellis Elmer, H. L. Terpenning, J. T. Tanner, A. Beale, A. R. Jones, I. C. Lefler, J. P. Worley, J. E. Whiting and J. Hinshaw. The Commissioners of Highways have been, A. A. Straight, G. W. Freshcorn, N. M. Stoddard, S. A. Stoddard, D. Thompson, N. Brigham, Joseph Elmer, E. H. Ward, J. W. McCullough, G. Haller, M. H. Knight, John Sharpless, J. B. T....

Pin It on Pinterest