Discover your family's story.

Enter a grandparent's name to get started.

Start Now

1859 Petition for Bitterroot County, Montana

In the winter of 1859 a petition had been addressed to the legislature of Washington by the settlers of Bitterroot Valley and the Flathead agency, to have a county set off, to be called Bitterroot County. This petition had seventy-seven names attached, and chiefly these of the Mullan wagon-road company, who could hardly be called settlers, although a few names of actual pioneers are to be found among them. The petition does not appear to have been presented until the session of 1860-1, when two counties, called Shoshone and Missoula, were created out of the region east of the later boundary of Washington, the 117th meridian. The list is as follows: W. W. Johnson J. A. Mullan G. C. Taliaferro J. Sohon C. R. Howard James S. Townsend Theodore Kolccki W. W. De Lacy George H. Smith Cyrus Spengler A. J. Horton William Lowery A. E. D’Course J. Cashman William Plug Charles J. Clark Daniel F. Smith Robert P. Booth David Carroll James Conlan Isaac H. Rocap Frederick Sheridan W. L. Wheelock John C. Davis Thomas Hudson W. Burch D. Hays John Carr George Ruddock Patrick Graham Canhope Larard John Larard Joseph Tracy William O’Neil Patrick Mihan James N. Heron Edward Scully M. McLaughlin William Craig William Hickman J. C. Sawyer A. J. Batchelder A. L. Riddle James McMahon William Galigher L. Neis Zib. Teberlare George Young John Owens W. D. Perkins Richard Smith Loars P. Williams William Henry William Proyery C. E. Juine D. M. Engely J. B. Rabin Thomas W. Harris Henri M. Clarke S. H. Martin Jefferson Morse James Gotier Angus MacCloud John De Placies James...

Pin It on Pinterest