Discover your family's story.

Enter a grandparent's name to get started.

Start Now

1850 Gazetteer of Aveton Gifford England

AVETON GIFFORD is a neat village, pleasantly situated in the picturesque valley of the river Aven, 3½ miles N.W. of Kingsbridge, and S.E. of Modbury. Its parish contains 1057 souls, and 3952A. 2R. 39P. of fertile land, including the small hamlets of Ashford, Lixton, Waterhead, and many scattered houses. The river is crossed by a good bridge, and is navigable for barges, and has a salmon fishery belonging to Mr. Bastard and Mr. Lowe. The manor was anciently held by the Giffards or Giffords, and afterwards passed to the Dynham, Prous, Mules, Damarell, and Berry families. It now belongs to E. R. P. Bastard, Esq. : but here is a small manor called Heathfield, belonging to P. Hyne, Esq., and the Barton estate belongs to J. M. Woollcombe, Esq. Part of this parish belongs to several smaller owners. A market and two fairs were granted to the lord of the manor in 1289, but they have been obsolete some centuries. The Church (St. Andrew,) is a large cruciform structure, in the early English style of the time of Henry III. Its tower contains six bells, and is crowned by a lofty circular turret. It is one of the finest and oldest churches in South Devon, and the interior would have a very handsome appearance if the mouldings, columns, capitals, &c., were cleansed of their many coats of whitewash. The rectory, valued in K.B. at £38. 1s. 8d., and in 1831 at £662, is in the patronage and incumbency of the Rev. W. P. Pitman, M.A. who has 97A. 1R. 38P. of glebe, and a large and handsome residence in...

Pin It on Pinterest