Antioch Baptist Church
The following data is extracted from Pulaski County, Georgia, Churches and Chruch work.
Antioch Baptist Church was organized August 10, 1893. Rev. R. Bullington preached the organization sermon. The group entered into a conference and elected A. C. Fulghum clerk. The charter members were: Sarah Foster, W. J. Pirkle and wife, J. T. Stephens, Catherine Stephens, J. L. Stephens and wife, B. F. Bracewell, H. D. Vaughn, A. C. Fulghum and wife. Fellowship was the name given the church. After a few years some became dissatisfied with the name and it was changed to Antioch.
The services were held under an arbor for three or four years before a house was erected. In 1927 the house was torn down and a new one built near Pulaski High School. The new church was dedicated Sunday, May 30, 1928. Rev. W. D. Ogletree was pastor at this time. Antioch was in the Little River Association until the Pulaski-Bleckley Association was formed, and was one of the first to join this new Association. One preacher has gone out from Antioch, Rev. Lewis Bullington. He became a member in July, 1903, b}, experience.
This Antioch is not to be confused with Old Antioch, near Fountain's Mill. Old Antioch was dissolved a few years after New Antioch was constituted. Part of her members came to the new church. The church is one of the best equipped churches in PulaskiBleckley Association. It has four classrooms in its teaching department, a W. M. S. and a large Sunday school.
Source: Pulaski County, Georgia, Churches and Chruch work